Skip to content
Maeby
← All posts

Telephone Answering Service Costs UK (2026)

Published UK prices for call answering services, per call and per month, what an in-house receptionist really costs, and where AI answering sits. All sourced.

Maeby
  • answering service
  • pricing
  • small business

How much does a telephone answering service cost in the UK?

UK human answering services publish prices from 99p to £2.99 per call, or £15 to £230 a month for bundled plans, with evenings and weekends often extra. A full-time receptionist costs an employer at least £28,000 a year. AI answering services run £39 to £199 a month with hundreds or unlimited minutes included.

In short

  • Pay-as-you-go human answering is 99p to £2.99 per call at UK providers' published rates, usually for a message taken rather than a call resolved.
  • Bundled human plans run from £15 to £230 a month for 30 to 100 calls; several add £25 to £75 a month for evening, weekend, and bank holiday cover.
  • A full-time receptionist on the April 2026 National Living Wage costs at least £28,300 a year with employer NI and pension, for office hours only, one call at a time.
  • AI answering services are priced on minutes or flat: Maeby is £39 a month for 400 minutes, Hey Jodie £49 to £199 with unlimited minutes, answer.co.uk's AI receptionist £10 a month plus 85p a call.
  • A business taking 100 calls a month pays roughly £99 to £340 for a human service and £39 to £99 for an AI one, based on the published prices in this guide.
  • Almost every human service quotes ex VAT. Add 20% unless you can reclaim it.

Most answering services would rather you asked for a quote than read a price. Moneypenny and alldayPA, the two biggest names in the UK market, publish no rates at all. That makes “how much does it cost” a harder question than it should be, so we went through every UK provider we could find that does publish a price, and did the employment arithmetic for the alternative most small businesses are actually weighing: a person on the desk.

Everything below is a published figure with a source at the bottom of the page. Where a provider doesn’t say whether VAT is included, assume it isn’t.

What do UK call answering services charge per call?

There are three pricing models in the market and most providers use a mix.

Provider Model Published price Hours
The Answer Centre Pay as you go 99p per call, no monthly fee Not stated
answer.co.uk Pay as you go £2.20 per call plus VAT, no monthly fee 24/7 included
ReceptionHQ Monthly base plus usage From £15 to £30 a month plus VAT; per-call rate on application 24/7 included
Face for Business Monthly plans From £49, £99, or £115 a month, billed by the second Core hours; evenings and weekends on higher plans
Paperclip Fixed plus per minute £85 a month plus 85p a minute, £99 setup Not stated
Pocket Receptionist Call bundles £75 for 30 calls, £145 for 60, £230 for 100, £635 for 300; £2.99 a call beyond 08:00 to 20:00

ReceptionHQ’s own survey of the market, updated in February 2026, puts the typical range at £0.99 to £2.50 per call or £0.80 to £1.85 per minute, with base subscriptions of £15 to £55 a month. That matches what the published pages above show. It also lists the extras that don’t appear on the headline: £25 to £40 a month for evening and weekend cover, £35 to £75 for full 24/7, and £20 to £100 for setup or custom scripting. Treat those as a provider’s view of its competitors rather than an independent study, but nothing on the published price lists contradicts it.

Two things the table doesn’t show. First, most of these prices buy a message taken, not a call resolved: the operator writes down a name and number and you ring back. Booking an appointment or answering a question about your prices is usually a higher tier or not offered. Second, a per-call rate looks cheap until you multiply it. Three hundred calls a month at £2.20 is £660, before VAT.

What does an in-house receptionist cost?

More than the salary, and the salary has a legal floor that most published “average receptionist salary” figures now sit below.

From 1 April 2026 the National Living Wage is £12.71 an hour for anyone 21 or over. A full-time receptionist at 37.5 hours a week therefore costs at least:

£12.71 × 37.5 × 52           = £24,785  salary
15% × (£24,785 − £5,000)     =  £2,968  employer National Insurance
3% × (£24,785 − £6,240)      =    £556  minimum employer pension
                               £28,309  a year, or £2,359 a month

That is the floor, not a typical figure. Anyone with experience, or anywhere near London, costs more. Small employers can offset up to £10,500 of the NI bill through the Employment Allowance, which brings the minimum down to about £25,340 if you have no other staff absorbing it.

What it buys is 37.5 hours a week of cover during office hours, one call at a time, minus 28 days’ statutory holiday and whatever sickness there is. Nobody answers at 6pm, on a Saturday, or while the receptionist is already on the phone. Divided by the roughly 1,740 hours actually worked in a year, the floor cost is about £16 an hour of desk cover.

For most businesses under ten people the honest comparison isn’t receptionist versus service. It’s “nobody” versus service, because a full-time desk was never affordable. The receptionist figure is still worth knowing: it’s what the answering-service industry is priced against, and why £200 a month for a shared operator looks reasonable in a sales call.

How much does an AI answering service cost?

AI answering is priced differently because the cost of an extra call is close to zero. Providers either sell a block of minutes or charge a flat rate.

Provider Published price What’s included
Maeby £39 a month, then £0.11 a minute 400 minutes, 24/7, bookings and messages. £89 for 1,000 minutes, £249 for 3,000
Hey Jodie £49, £99, or £199 a month Unlimited minutes; tiers differ by features
answer.co.uk AI receptionist £10 a month plus 85p a call 24/7, sold alongside their human service

Prices exclude VAT. Ours are on the pricing page; we’ve stated them here so the comparison is complete, and so you can put them straight into the arithmetic below.

The structural difference is that AI services don’t charge for time of day. There is no out-of-hours rate because there is no out-of-hours shift, and there is no queue because the service takes several calls at once. What you’re checking when you compare AI providers is what happens on the call: whether it can book into your diary and answer from your own material, or whether it’s a message-taker with a synthetic voice.

What would a typical small business actually pay?

Take a business receiving 100 calls a month, averaging three minutes each, with 40 of those calls arriving outside 9 to 5. Here is the published price of each option.

Option Monthly cost at published rates Covers the 40 out-of-hours calls?
The Answer Centre, pay as you go £99 Not stated
Pocket Receptionist Pro £230 Only those before 8pm
answer.co.uk, pay as you go £220 plus VAT Yes
Paperclip £340 plus £99 setup in month one Not stated
Hey Jodie Professional £99 Yes
Maeby Solo £39 (300 of 400 minutes used) Yes
Full-time receptionist £2,359 No

At 300 calls a month the spread widens: £297 at The Answer Centre, £635 at Pocket Receptionist, £660 at answer.co.uk, about £850 at Paperclip, against £89 on Maeby’s Pro plan or still £99 at Hey Jodie.

The cheapest human option and the AI options end up in the same £40 to £100 band at low volume. The difference is what the money buys. A 99p message is a slower voicemail with a polite voice: the caller still hasn’t got what they rang for, and you still have the callback to make. That’s the comparison to run before the price one. We set out what a missed call costs in a separate post; the short version is that for most businesses the cost of the service is small next to the value of the calls it saves, whichever service it is.

What to check before you sign

  1. What is a “call”? Some providers count every ring, including sales calls and wrong numbers. Face for Business explicitly doesn’t charge for nuisance calls; most don’t say.
  2. What are the hours? If the plan covers 8am to 8pm, the calls that arrive at 8.15pm are still going to voicemail, and those are the ones you were paying to catch.
  3. What happens on the call? Message only, or bookings and questions? The price gap between the two is often larger than the gap between providers.
  4. Is there a minimum term or a setup fee? Most of the providers above say no contract; Paperclip charges £99 setup and answer.co.uk asks for £25 of credit up front.
  5. Is the quote ex VAT? Almost always. Add 20%.

If you’d like to see what an AI answering service does with a real call before comparing prices, you can test one free in your browser without a phone number or a card.

Sources

  1. Pay As You Go Call Answering Service — answer.co.uk, 2026.£2.20 plus VAT per call for customers joining after 23 June 2025, 24/7 included; AI receptionist at £10 a month plus £0.85 a call. Read September 2026.
  2. Pricing — Pocket Receptionist, 2026.Starter £75 for 30 calls to Enterprise £635 for 300, £2.99 a call beyond, 08:00 to 20:00 coverage. VAT not stated. Read September 2026.
  3. UK Phone Answering Service Pricing — ReceptionHQ, 2026.Base plans from £15 to £30 a month plus VAT with 24/7 included; per-call rates are not on the page. Read September 2026.
  4. 24/7 Phone Answering Service Cost UK (2026) — ReceptionHQ, 2026.A provider's own market survey, updated February 2026. Source of the £0.99 to £2.50 per call, £0.80 to £1.85 per minute, and after-hours surcharge ranges. Not independent.
  5. Telephone Answering Service Prices — The Answer Centre, 2026.99p a call pay-as-you-go, no monthly fee, no setup fee. Coverage hours and VAT not stated. Read September 2026.
  6. How much does call answering cost in the UK? — Paperclip, 2026.£85 a month fixed plus 85p a minute, £99 setup, 20p per transferred call. Undated article, read September 2026.
  7. Pricing — Face for Business, 2026.Taster from £49, Message Only from £99, Inclusive Minutes from £115 a month, billed by the second. Allowances not published. Read September 2026.
  8. Pricing — Hey Jodie, 2026.AI answering: £49, £99, £199 a month with unlimited minutes, tax added at checkout. Read September 2026.
  9. National Minimum Wage and National Living Wage rates — GOV.UK, 2026.£12.71 an hour for workers aged 21 and over from 1 April 2026.
  10. Rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 — GOV.UK / HMRC, 2026.Employer Class 1 NI at 15% above a £5,000 secondary threshold; Employment Allowance £10,500.
  11. Workplace pensions: what you, your employer and the government pay — GOV.UK, 2026.Minimum 3% employer contribution on qualifying earnings.
  12. Receptionist job profile — National Careers Service, 2026.Quotes £18,000 to £22,000 and 38 to 40 hours a week. The lower figure is below the legal full-time minimum at the 2026 rate, so we use the wage floor instead.

Common questions

What is the cheapest phone answering service in the UK?

On published rates, pay-as-you-go message-taking from 99p a call (The Answer Centre) or a £15 a month base plan (ReceptionHQ). Cheap per call becomes expensive per month once volume rises: 300 calls at £2.20 is £660. At that volume an AI service at £39 to £99 a month with minutes included costs less than a fifth as much.

Do answering services charge extra for evenings and weekends?

Often. ReceptionHQ's own market guide puts evening and weekend cover at £25 to £40 a month extra and full 24/7 at £35 to £75, and Pocket Receptionist's plans cover 08:00 to 20:00 only. Some providers, including answer.co.uk and ReceptionHQ, include 24/7 as standard. AI services have no out-of-hours rate.

How much does a receptionist cost an employer in the UK?

At least £28,300 a year in 2026 for a full-time receptionist on the National Living Wage of £12.71 an hour: £24,785 salary, about £2,970 employer National Insurance at 15%, and about £560 minimum pension. That buys 37.5 hours a week in office hours, one call at a time, and nothing during holidays or sickness.

Is it cheaper per call or per minute?

Per call suits short message-taking; per minute suits calls where something gets done. A three-minute call at 85p a minute is £2.55, close to the £2.20 to £2.99 per-call rates. AI services bill on connected minutes: Maeby's £0.11 a minute makes the same three-minute call 33p beyond the included allowance.

Are the prices in this guide inclusive of VAT?

No. Every provider that states it quotes ex VAT, and the rest don't say. Add 20% to compare against your real outgoing unless you're VAT registered and can reclaim it. Employment costs have no VAT.

Hear it answeryour phone.

Set up an agent, try it in your browser, and put it on a real number.